• Instagram
  • YouTube
  • Snapchat Sosyal Simge
House of Commons of the United Kingdom

The House of Commons (HOC), is a legislative assembly formed by deputies elected by the public in the UK. It appeared in the mid-14th century and now it consists of 630 MPs (Members of Parliament) from 8 different parties. The UK public elects 650 MPs to represent their interests and concerns in the House of Commons. MPs consider and propose new laws, and can scrutinize government policies by asking ministers questions about current issues either in the Commons Chamber or in Committees. The government must obtain the approval of a sufficient number of deputies in the HOC to implement new laws and taxes. This is also the focus of government policies.
Agenda Item : Brexit

Brexit means “British and Exit”. That is, the separation of the UK from the European Union (EU). United Kingdom thought it was a tie to the EU. That is why the UK decided the take Brexit decision. The public voted this decision in a referendum. The results were in favor of leaving the EU but The British Prime Minister Theresa May's Treaty of exit from the union with the EU was rejected by a vote of 432 against 202 votes in the British Parliament. The EU and the UK have agreed a further delay to Brexit until 31 October. The government is still committed to trying to leave the EU with a deal as soon as possible. But if the compromise plan does not yield results, many things could happen. In this committee, delegates will try to solve the deadlock.